Telugu Desam Party

"The Telugu Desam Party is an Indian regional political party operating in Andhra Pradesh and Telangana at the state and central level. Since its founding by N. T. Rama Rao on 29 March 1982, the party has focused on supporting Telugu speakers. Since 1995, NTR's son-in-law, N. Chandrababu Naidu, has led the party."

The TDP currently holds three Lok Sabha seats, one Rajya Sabha seat, and is the main opposition party in both houses of Andhra Pradesh's legislature.

N. Chandrababu Naidu is the current National President of the Telugu Desam Party (TDP). He also served as the convenor of National Democratic Alliance (NDA). He suffered a major political setback in the 2019 Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly Elections by winning only 23 seats out of the 175 assembly segments.[4] This was a never before seen defeat in the history of Telugu Desam Party (TDP). His son, Nara Lokesh too lost in the elections from Mangalagiri Assembly Constituency

Chandrababu Naidu who continued as a Minister in NTR's cabinet revolted against him to much surprise. He gathered many TDP MLAs in Viceroy Hotel and demonstrated a non co-operation against the then Chief Minsiter, NTR.[16] This saw NTR losing his Chief Minister post. NTR was even expelled from the Party by Chandrababu Naidu and he eventually became the Chief Minister in 1995 with the support of party's MLAs


Soon after its founding, the TDP won a majority in the 1983 Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly elections. As the state's 10th Chief Minister, NTR was the first officeholder not affiliated with the Indian National Congress (INC). In the 1984 Indian general election, the party won 30 Lok Sabha seats despite the INC's national landslide victory, making the 8th Lok Sabha, held from 1984 to 1989, the only session to have a regional party as the main opposition.

TDP party was founded thinking that we should stand by the people of the state who are struggling with many such problems and put a political party to stand by the people. The party was formed on March 29, 1982 and contested the 1983 elections. The people of Andhra Pradesh, who were fed up with the Congress government which had been ruling for 36 years, gave a great victory to the TDP party in the 1983 elections. On January 9, 1983, NTR was sworn in as the 7th Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh.

Janmabhoomi Programme

The Janmabhoomi Programme (First C.M in India to launch it in February 1996) is designed to involve people in the reconstruction and revitalization of society. It plans to identify problems through Gram Sabha discussions with regional officers, especially in villages. The core concentrated areas are community work, primary school education, drinking water, health and hospitals, family welfare, and environmental protection through watershed and joint forest management activities.

In 2014, Congress party passed the Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Act, 2014 which Naidu too supported for the bifurcation. After the bifurcation of the Andhra Pradesh, Naidu and formed an alliance again with the Bharatiya Janata Party and Jana Sena Party and returned to power in Andhra Pradesh state, winning 102 seats out of 175 seats. The inclusion of Bharatiya Janata Party in the alliance made people believe that the state may get developed due to the central government's support. This made TDP win an outright majority. Naidu took oath as the first Chief Minister of the residuary state of Andhra Pradesh at Mangalagiri on the grounds of Acharya Nagarjuna University near Guntur.